[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[679] News from XIV International AIDS Conference- Part 1



[Moderators note: This message has been cross-posted by AIDS-INDIA discussion forum. As it is very large it will be sent in two consequential postings]

INTERNATIONAL AIDS CONFERENCE (BARCELONA, 7 - 12 JULY 2002)  

JULY 2001 EDITION   CONTENTS:   

1. A word of Welcome  
2. The Barcelona Secretariat  
3. The Barcelona Framework  
4. Conference Theme  
5. Organizers and Co-organizers  
6. Barcelona AIDS 2002 Foundation  
7. The Conference Program: Integrating Science and Action  
8. Biomedical, Behavioral and Social Sciences  
9. Interventions, Program Implementation and Policy  
10. Sponsors  
11. Co-operating Institutions  
12. Conference Venue  
13. Barcelona AIDS 2002 Represented at UNGASS  
14. Conference Web Site Up and Running  
15. Printed Material  
a.      Second Announcement and Poster  
b.      Call for Abstracts and Invitation Program  
c.      Invitation to Exhibit  
16. IPIP Committee Meets in Barcelona  
17. BBSS Committee to Meet  
18. Upcoming Committee Meetings  
19. Barcelona AIDS 2002 Marketed at International Conferences  
20. Important Deadlines  
21. Accommodation in Barcelona  
22. Durban Web Site Domain Hijacked!  
23. Keep in Touch   

1. A WORD OF WELCOME  

Welcome to this edition of AIDS 2002 Update. This electronic newsletter is intended to keep you informed of the progress with the organization of next year's international AIDS conference in 
Barcelona. Initially, it will be released every two months. From January next year, it will be issued monthly.   

2. THE BARCELONA SECRETARIAT  

The Secretariat opened its doors at its official premises in Calle Pomaret, Barcelona in March this year. Most departments are now staffed by their respective heads, although some support staff are still being sought. We take this opportunity to introduce you to the secretariat.   

CONFERENCE CO-CHAIRS: 
Dr. José Maria Gatell: gatell@aids2002.com  
Dr. Jordi Casabona: jcasabona@aids2002.com  
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR:  
Patricia Needle: mpneedle@aids2002.com   

ADMINISTRATIVE OPERATIONS:  
Javier Rubio: jrubio@aids2002.com  
Anna Clarena: aclarena@aids2002.com  
Helena Ponce: hponce@aids2002.com  
Emily Knox: eknox@aids2002.com  
Rosa Romero: rromero@aids2002.com  

 SCIENTIFIC CO-ORDINATOR:  
Roberto Muga: rmuga@aids2002.com   

COMMUNITY CO-ORDINATOR:  
Marsha Martin: mmartin@aids2002.com  

INTERVENTIONS, PROGRAM IMPLEMENTATION & POLICY CHAIR:  
Shaun Mellors: shaun.mellors@mrc.ac.za   

CONGREX:  
Anette Lifors: anettel@aids2002.com  
Angela Causse-Laurie: angelac@aids2002.com  
Céline à strà m: celineo@aids2002.com   

COMMUNICATIONS & MEDIA:  
Karen Bennett: kbennett@aids2002.com   

FINANCE DEPARTMENT:  
Javier Merida: jmerida@aids2002.com  
Elena Fontela: efontela@aids2002.com   

IT DEPARTMENT:  
Helen Ward: hward@aids2002.com  
Gert Schoonbee: gschoonbee@aids2002.com  
Johan Bleeker: jbleeker@aids2002.com  
Kershen Naidoo: knaidoo@aids2002.com  
Mia Biagio: mbiagio@aids2002.com  
Pieter Oosthuizen: poosthuizen@aids2002.com  

 SCHOLARSHIPS DEPARTMENT:  
Ninon Larché: nlarche@aids2002.com  
General queries: scholarships@aids2002.com   

SPONSORSHIPS DEPARTMENT:  
Laura Zamora: lzamora@aids2002.com   

3. THE BARCELONA FRAMEWORK  

The Barcelona Framework is a document that was developed by the conference co-chairs in association with the co-organizers to outline the aims, objectives and structures of the conference.   This document has led to the development of four broad objectives for the XIV International AIDS Conference:  
 To maintain and increase scientific quality;  
To translate knowledge gained from science and experience into action;  
To highlight prevention science; and  
To highlight the inclusion of Spanish-speaking countries.   

4. CONFERENCE THEME   

The theme of the XIV International AIDS Conference is:   KNOWLEDGE AND COMMITMENT FOR ACTION   This theme was selected to reflect the overall objectives of Barcelona Framework. It was discussed and approved by the Conference Organizing Committee in a teleconference on 1 June 2001.   Put very simply, the theme refers to using the knowledge we have gained from both science and experience, making a commitment to doing something with that knowledge and then actually doing it. It applies to all HIV/AIDS issues including equal access to treatment and care;prevention of HIV transmission; the provision of education and resources; humanitarian rights; access of information to all sectors; and enabling a supportive environment for people living with HIV/AIDS.   

5. ORGANIZERS & CO-ORGANIZERS  

The XIV International AIDS Conference is organized by theInternational AIDS Society (IAS) and the Barcelona AIDS 2002 Foundation.   The conference co-organizers are:   

The Joint United Nations Program on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS)  
The Global Network of People Living with HIV/AIDS (GNP+)   
The International Council of AIDS Service Organizations (ICASO)   
The International Community of Women Living with HIV/AIDS (ICW)   
Red 2002   

6. BARCELONA AIDS 2002 FOUNDATION   
This non-profit foundation was created with the aim of organizing the XIV International AIDS Conference, as well as to encourage multi-disciplinary research projects to improve HIV/AIDS prevention,  care and treatment, both nationally and internationally, with a particular emphasis in the Latin American, Caribbean and  Mediterranean basin regions.   In addition, the Foundation will carry out research projects to  improve and extend intervention programs in the biomedical and public health fields both nationally and internationally. It will carry out its work around the world, although its main aim is to set up projects in co-operation with countries of Latin America, the Caribbean and the Mediterranean.  

7. THE CONFERENCE PROGRAM: INTEGRATING SCIENCE AND ACTION   
The concepts of "Science" and "Action" will form the pillars of the Barcelona Conference program. Both will be translated into the Conference content and structure by means of the two components of the program: 
ï Biomedical, Behavioral and Social Sciences   
iï Interventions, Program Implementation and Policy   
The traditional approach of past conferences had been to separate the "Science" and the "Community" into two distinct programs. Recognizing that HIV/AIDS is an epidemic that must be tackled by a unified body, these elements will now form part of a unified conference program.  The program has undergone many changes to facilitate this.   The two components of the conference program will not differentiate participants. Rather they will facilitate the exchange of information  between scientists, activists, policy makers, PWA and people working  at program implementation level. In order to achieve this, Bridging  sessions and Skills-Building sessions will complete the integration of science and action.  

 8. BIOMEDICAL, BEHAVIORAL AND SOCIAL SCIENCES   
This component aims to share information and data from these fields as well as from public health related areas in general. The contents will be research-based data using established scientific methods and will include peer-reviewed abstracts and invited speakers.   Presentations and discussions are organized into five tracks, the committees of which have been set up to include experts from across 
the globe.   The tracks are:   

Track A: Basic Sciences   
Track B: Clinical Sciences and Care   
Track C: Epidemiology   
Track D: Prevention Science   
Track E: Social Sciences   

9. INTERVENTIONS, PROGRAM IMPLEMENTATION AND POLICY   
The component has two broad aims. Firstly, it will present examples of successful efforts; and secondly, it will identify remaining barriers to implementing effective programs and policies and potential strategies for overcoming them.   These tracks will include presentations such as group discussions, oral presentations, debates and so on. It will also include  presentations based on peer-reviewed abstracts and invited speakers. The abstracts will be evidence and / or experience-based. A crucial issue here will be to ensure there is enough time left over for discussion in each session.   The tracks are:   

Track 1: Interventions & Program Implementation   
Track 2: Policy   

10. SPONSORS   To date, the following sponsors (listed in alphabetical order), have given their valued support to Barcelona AIDS 2002:   

Abbott International   
Agouron Pharmaceutical Inc   
Boehringer Ingelheim   
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company   
DuPont Pharma   
Gilead Sciences   
Glaxo Smith Kline   
Merck Sharpe & Dohme   
Roche   

For information on sponsorship opportunities contact Laura Zamora (lzamora@aids2002.com)   

11. CO-OPERATING INSTITUTIONS   
We thank the following institutions for their valuable support:   

Ministerio de Sanidad y Consumo   
Departament de Sanitat i Seguretat Social, Govern Auà nem de Catalunya   
Diputaà ià de Barcelona, Xarxa de Municipis   
Ajuntament de Barcelona   
Universitat Autà noma de Barcelona   
Fundaà ià la Caixa   
American Foundation for AIDS Research (AmFAR)   
International Red Cross   
Population Council   
The Synergy Project   
US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)   
US Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)   
US National Institutes of Health (NIH)   

For more information contact Pat Needle pneedle@aids2002.com)   

12. CONFERENCE VENUE   
The venue for the XIV International AIDS Conference is the Fira de Barcelona on Plaza Espanya. This centrally located venue is close to all public transport routes and is serviced by an airport shuttle and  numerous taxis.   The conference will use halls 1, 2, 4 and 5 â " a total of about 50 000 square meters. The plenary sessions and opening and closing ceremonies will be held in the majestic Palau St Jordi. This venue is 15 minutes' walk from the main site, and shuttle buses will be provided between the two venues.   For more information, visit the Firaâ s website www.firabcn.es   

13. BARCELONA AIDS 2002 REPRESENTED AT UNGASS   
Conference Co-chair, Dr Jordi Casabona attended the United Nations General Assembly Special Session (UNGASS) on HIV/AIDS held at the end of June in New York City, USA. Dr Casabona attended the special session as part of the Spanish delegation. The delegation also included the Ministers of Health of Catalonia and Spain.   This was a valuable opportunity for Dr Casabona to meet with opinion leaders from all over the world to discuss the inclusion of various elements in the program of the Barcelona conference. Barcelona AIDS 2002 is also the first global meeting to take place after UNGASS and provides an ideal platform to assess the activities which arose as a result of UNGASS.  





--------------------------------------------------------
- A posting from intaids@hivnet.ch

- To submit a posting, send to this address
- For anonymous postings, add the word "anon" to the subject line
- To join or leave this forum, add the word join or leave to the subject line
- Browse previous postings or post new messages at:
  http://www.hivnet.ch:8000/global/intaids/

- Reproduction welcomed, provided source and forum email address is quoted
- The forum is managed by Health & Development Networks (www.hdnet.org) on behalf of the Fondation du Present (www.fdp.org)

The views expressed in this forum do not necessarily reflect those of HDN or FdP, unless otherwise stated
--------------------------------------------------------